4 Questions: Nico Mara-McKay

by CS

What is your earliest memory?

When I was a toddler I’d pull the drawers out from my dresser, place them on the floor, remove the clothes from them and play boats, sailing along in a sea of clothing.

What was your first acceptance/publication? Print or electronic?

I’ve been writing online since 1996 for my own websites and contributing various pieces to others, but my first non-online publication was an unpaid review to a British journal in 2004. I recall it as being very exciting, this authentication from someone external to myself and my small circle that my words were worth sharing.

Do you write while listening to music, and if so, what do you listen to?

Rarely, but when I do, I prefer instrumental tracks, as I find them less distracting.

Nico Mara-McKay is a writer and editor living in Toronto. Her work has appeared in numerous journals and magazines, most recently in The Found Poetry Review, Line Zero and Contemporary Verse 2, and is forthcoming in The Antigonish Review and Broken Pencil. She can be found online at http://nicomaramckay.com and on Twitter @plutopsyche

